Welcome to Computer Science

Welcome to ICT and Computer Science. We offer a range of courses From Year 7 to Year 13.

Our Curriculum Journey

Curriculum Intent: Computer Science and ICT

As part of a STEM academy the Computer Science and ICT department encourages students to investigate, be inquisitive and think logically. Our students gain an appreciation of how Computer Science and digital creativity enhance and affect our everyday lives. The most important aspect of Computer Science is problem solving, an essential skill for life. Our curriculum inspires students to use computational thinking and programming skills to build solutions to complex problems.

Nottingham City’s economic development plan identifies Computer Science as a key focus in our emerging digital economy. The close links students make with local industry and Universities underpin our curriculum and enhance knowledge of career pathways for our students into the computing industries and beyond.

Pathways

Students in Year 10 can opt to take the Computing Pathway which is two qualifications over two years; IT and Computer Science.

Students also have the option to take the Computer Science GCSE as a separate subject if they opt for the Engineering Pathway instead.

We also offer A-level Computer Science and Cambridge Technical IT at KS5.

Key Dates

Export this calendar for calendar apps that support iCal [BETA]

Wednesday 12th January 2022Cambridge National IT Exam
Wednesday 19th January 2022VEX Robotics Competition at Stowe School
Monday 24th January 2022 until Friday 4th February 2022Perse Coding Team Challenge Round 1
Saturday 29th January 2022VEX Robotics Competition at NUAST
Saturday 5th February 2022VEX IQ Competition at NUAST
Monday 7th February 2022 until Friday 11th February 2022Oxford University Computing Challenge
Thursday 3rd March 2022 until Friday 4th March 2022VEX Robotics Competition National Finals
Saturday 5th March 2022 until Sunday 6th March 2022VEX IQ Competition National Finals
Monday 14th March 2022 until Friday 25th March 2022Perse Coding Team Challenge Round 2
Monday 16th May 2022GCSE Computer Science Paper 1 Exam
Friday 27th May 2022GCSE Computer Science Paper 2 Exam
Monday 13th June 2022A-level Computer Science Paper 1 Exam
Friday 24th June 2022A-level Computer Science Paper 2 Exam

November 2021

MTWTFWE
123456
8910111213
151617181920
222324252627
2930    

View the calendar in full

Computer Science News

View more news stories